A New Year

In a few moments the calendar will flip to a new page with a new year.  2017.  In so many ways, saying this brings relief.  I have high hopes for 2017.  I am so weary from 2016.  And yet, I need to pause.

I need to not hurry into the freshness of the new without reflecting on the sweet moments (and the learning moments!) of 2016.

A year ago at this time, as the clock was ticking, I had no idea that this year would finally entail us acting on our dream of becoming licensed foster & adoptive parents.  I had no idea that we would get our first placement, and have our hearts ripped out so soon afterwards.  I had no idea that our next placement would involve me reading parenting books, articles, blogs, Facebook help groups, and everything in between.

A year ago I didn’t anticipate losing a friend from college and processing grief in a new way.  I didn’t realize that “leading” my church’s clothing give-away outreach event would show me so much of my sin and really just empty me.  I didn’t believe we’d go through 6 months of the fellow’s unemployment, and I for sure didn’t believe I’d still be living in this house.

I’m thankful for a year of growth in 2016, but I am so, so tired.  I’m praying for kindness and patience in abundance (in me) for 2017.  I’m hoping for a foster placement that won’t be scared or uncertain of the fellow.  I’m hoping for more time to clean and organize.

I’m thankful that Jesus makes all things new.

This entry was posted in Being Present, Daily Battles, Everyday Living, Foster Care, Goals & Dreams, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

