How I Want My Heart to Break

The phrase “your heart breaks in all the right places,” streams out of the speakers in my car.  One of my favorite singer/songwriters catches me off guard again.  I want to be the person he’s singing about.

But I’m about as far away as a person can get.

So the past week I’ve been wondering, what would it look like for my heart to break in all the right places?

Less heartbreak over being left-out, rejected, made fun of, forgotten.  Fewer tears over someone not liking me, trivial things frustrating me, or stress getting the best of me.  Less sorrow from being over-looked or misunderstood or not the funny one in the room.

Instead my tears might flow over the injustice of racism, prevalence of poverty, and horrors of trafficking.  I would be weeping for the orphan, the widow, the homeless.

I care about those things.  But not as much as I care about myself.  That’s why someone offending me burns a much larger hole in my heart than the story of a homeless man dying from cold out on the streets.

I want my heart to break in all the right places, but I have such a long way to go.  May the process of my sanctification and yours take us ever closer to that point.

This entry was posted in Daily Battles, Everyday Living, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How I Want My Heart to Break

  1. Steph says:

    You’re words ring true to my own heart. Such depth in your honesty. If our hearts broke in all the right places… What a beautiful thought. Thanks for this particular thought. I couldn’t agree on a more personal level. ❤ to you sweet friend.

Leave a Reply

