2014 is Scary

Does the start of a new year scare anyone else besides me?

Sure, I get excited with everyone else about the start of a fresh year, and I watch the ball fall in Times Square, and make a lot of noise at midnight.  But after that exciting moment passes, the uncertainty starts setting in.  Will I accomplish anything this year?  Will I make a difference?  Will I screw up as much as I did this last year?  What if this year will be a boring existence of living the American dream?

Fresh starts excite me, but they’re scary because I know I’ll mess them up.  2014 has potential to be a great year (as has each year in the past), but it could also be full of me making a lot of bad choices or wasting my time.

2013 was a full year with lots of major events.  My sweet grandpa died, one of my precious guinea pigs died, I joined my church, donated a kidney, fell in love, and my sister got married.  2013 also brought deeper realization of my sin.  I’m full of entitlement, grumpiness, lack of self-control, and really thinking I’m always right.  I do not enjoy realizing these things about myself.  So it can be scary to image what 2014 will reveal!

No one can predict what 2014 will hold–for me or for anyone else.  But there is one thing I know.  Whether it’s a new year, or just a new day, the goodness of the Lord will sustain us.

Lamentations 3
22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
    for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.

 

This entry was posted in Being Present, Daily Battles, Everyday Living, Goals & Dreams. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

